ffac logo
Donate

College Fellowship

Summer 2022

REMOTE

Factory Farming Awareness Coalition is glad to welcome back college advocates in our Leadership Collective to apply for a position as a fellow. This program is open to college advocates who have completed their first term in the Advocacy Institute and are current members of the Leadership Collective. The program is intended to help further develop leaders in the anti-factory farming movement through continued advocacy training and practical work.

All fellows in the program will participate in:

  • Continued advocacy training including public speaking, lobbying, and various kinds of political and social advocacy. We prioritize self-care and mental well-being in our work in order to foster a long-term commitment to advocacy. 
  • A greater focus on hands-on work experience (outlined below in Options for Practical Hours).

OUR MISSION

Factory Farming Awareness Coalition educates and empowers individuals and communities to support a more just and sustainable food system.

OUR VALUES

Agility: Our program is informed by current thought on behavior change, and we are prepared to change course in light of scientific advances and societal changes. 

Compassion: We oppose the institution of factory farming, but have compassion for individuals who (willingly or not) participate in the system. We meet people where they are, recognizing that changing attitudes and behaviors is a long-term process. We support our team and others doing this emotionally challenging work.

Collaboration: We can best serve FFAC’s mission by working together. We always strive to complement existing resources rather than duplicate them. We recognize that systems of oppression are interconnected and affect both human and non-human life. We invest in meaningful relationships with each other and with other organizations and groups advocating for social and environmental justice.

Self-Awareness: We acknowledge our unearned privileges and strive to amplify minoritized and oppressed voices. 

Knowledge: We prioritize sharing information from peer-reviewed sources and regularly update our materials. While our programs are focused on making changes in the broader U.S. population, we are sensitive to indigenous and non-Western perspectives.

INFORMATION SESSION DATE

  • Monday, 4/25 (3-4pm PT / 6-7pm ET)

Zoom link will be sent to those who have completed the application.

PROGRAM DATES

Mandatory orientation:

  • June 9, 2022 from 11am-12pm PT // 12pm-1pm MT // 1pm-2pm CT // 2pm-3pm ET

Summer term program dates: 

  • June 14, 2022 - August 4, 2022
  • Weekly on Wednesdays and Thursday from 9am-1pm PT // 10am-2pm MT // 11am-3pm CT // 12pm-4pm ET (each Wednesday includes a working lunch hour, which can be used toward practical hours)
  • 1-2 additional elective hours per week (Note: elective hours take place on Tuesdays and Thursdays from 12-1pm PT // 1-2pm MT // 2-3pm CT // 3-4pm ET, plus occasional additional opportunities outside these hours.)

Advocacy Institute celebration: 

  • TBD

In order to successfully complete this program, fellows are required to attend: (1) an information session, (2) an interview, (3) the mandatory orientation, (4) all program meetings, and (5) the Advocacy Institute Celebration.

The time commitment for the fellowship is a minimum of 10 hours per week for 8 weeks.

PROGRAM REQUIREMENTS

  1. Attend meetings weekly on Wednesday and Thursday from 9am-1pm PT // 10am-2pm MT // 11am-3pm CT // 12pm-4pm ET including social, professional, and educational events throughout each week. During these weekly meetings, we will participate in workshops, discuss workshop content, listen to guest speakers, and share progress on practical hours.
  2. Participate in a minimum of 1-2 elective hours each week from a calendar offering a variety of options including educational hours, social hours, skill-building hours, team learning meetings with FFAC staff, CultureShift book club meetings. These elective hours will take place on Tuesdays and Thursdays from 12-1pm PT // 1-2pm MT // 2-3pm CT // 3-4pm ET, plus occasional additional opportunities outside these hours.
    Note: Over the entire term, college advocates must attend a total of a minimum of 8 elective hours, including at least 2 educational hours, 2 skill-building hours, and 2 social hours.
  3. Fellows will spend approximately 4 hours per week completing practical hours(See practical hours below before options/ideas.)

OPTIONS FOR PRACTICAL HOURS

  • Give an FFAC presentation about the impacts of factory farming to a community group, class, camp, or organization.
  • Promote Green Monday and/or DefaultVeg on your campus or in your community. 
  • Plan and implement social media campaigns, including research and graphic design.
  • Write articles for publication on FFAC’s website.
  • Write letters to the editor to pitch to media outlets.
  • Assist in planning and implementing fundraising events.
  • Engage in federal and state legislative advocacy.
  • Propose your own ideas to educate or support a more just and sustainable food system.

REIMBURSEMENT

FFAC will provide each college advocate $200 toward the cost of internet and phone over the period of the term via check (unless otherwise requested).

BENEFITS

Fellows who complete all program requirements are eligible for letters of recommendation.

Obtain a broader understanding of available career paths and be exposed to job and networking opportunities.

Gain long-lasting friendships and mentors through immersion in a like-minded, supportive community.

APPLICATION PROCESS

Admissions are competitive. Above all, we look for commitment to our mission and values. We look for candidates who will actively engage in our community and, later on, our alumni network. There are no specific experience or GPA requirements.

Applications are accepted on a rolling basis** until all spots are filled.

  1. Complete the online application below.
  2. After submitting your application, you will attend a program information session (see above for dates and times). You will have an opportunity to ask all your questions there.
  3. After attending the information session, if you think the program is a good fit for you, we will assess your application further and select the applicants who will be invited to an interview.
  4. We will let you know if you are accepted into the program.

**Applications are accepted on a rolling basis. You are welcome to submit an application now for a future term. Please note which term you are applying for on the application.

Please reach out with additional questions to Kiely Smith at kiely@ffacoalition.org.