ffac logo
Donate

Advocacy Institute
for College Students

Summer 2022

INFORMATION SESSION DATES

  • Wednesday, 2/16 (3pm PT / 6pm ET)
  • Thursday, 3/17 (3pm PT / 6pm ET)
  • Monday, 4/18 (3pm PT / 6pm ET)
  • Tuesday, 5/24 (2pm PT / 5pm ET)

Zoom links will be sent to those who have completed the application.

PROGRAM DATES

Mandatory orientation:

  • June 9, 2022 from 9am-11am- PT // 10am-12pm MT // 11am-1pm CT // 12pm-2pm ET

Summer term program dates: 

  • June 14, 2022 - August 4, 2022
  • Weekly on Tuesday, Wednesday, and Thursday from 9am-1pm PT // 10am-2pm MT // 11am-3pm CT // 12pm-4pm ET (1 hour each day includes a working lunch hour)

Advocacy Institute celebration: 

  • TBD

In order to successfully complete this program, college advocates are required to attend: (1) an information session and interview, (2) the mandatory orientation, (3) all program meetings, and (4) the Advocacy Institute Celebration.

The time commitment for the Advocacy Institute is a minimum of 12-15 hours per week for 8 weeks.

PROGRAM REQUIREMENTS

  1. Attend meetings weekly on on Tuesday, Wednesday, and Thursday from 9am-1pm PT // 10am-2pm MT // 11am-3pm CT // 12pm-4pm ET plus additional optional social, professional, and educational events throughout each month. During these weekly meetings, we will discuss the readings, participate in workshops, listen to guest speakers, and share progress on project work.
  2. Participate in mimumum 2 elective hours each week from a calendar offering a variety of options including educational hours, social hours, skill-building hours, team learning meetings with FFAC staff, CultureShift book club meetings.
    Note: Over the entire term, college advocates must attend a total of a minimum of 16 elective hours, including at least 2 educational hours, 2 skill-building hours, and 2 social hours.
  3. Each college advocate will mentor a high school student by leading them through pre-planned goal-setting and advocacy skill-building activities. FFAC will provide support and instructions for college mentors on how to lead mentor group meetings.
  4. College advocates will spend approximately 3-4 hours per week completing project work. (See project work below before options/ideas.)

REIMBURSEMENT

This is an academic educational internship in which students will engage with other students in the program through readings, discussions, and workshops led by experts in their fields. The practical portion of the internship comprises students working on an advocacy project of their choice. Though this opportunity is unpaid, we are able to provide the cost of internet/phone services for students, which we hope helps make the program more accessible.

FFAC will provide each college advocate $200 toward the cost of internet and phone over the period of the term via check (unless otherwise requested).

APPLICATION PROCESS

Admissions are competitive. Above all, we look for commitment to our mission and values. We look for candidates who will actively engage in our community and, later on, our alumni network. There are no specific experience or GPA requirements.

Applications are accepted on a rolling basis!**

  1. Complete the online application below.
  2. In addition to submitting an application through this website, please upload your resume and a project sample. Your project sample should be any project you have done that displays your skills and ideas, e.g., an academic essay, personal writing, creative project, art, video, or anything else. We will accept a sample of any size or length—quality over quantity.
  3. After submitting your application, you will attend a program information session (see above for dates and times). You will have an opportunity to ask all your questions there.
  4. After attending the information session, if you think the program is a good fit for you, we will assess your application further and select the applicants who will be invited to an interview.
  5. We will let you know if you are accepted into the program.

**Applications are accepted on a rolling basis. You are welcome to submit an application now for a future term. Please note which term you are applying for on the application.

Please reach out with additional questions to Kiely Smith at kiely@ffacoalition.org.