ffac logo
Donate

Advocacy Institute
for College Students

As a college student in the Advocacy Institute, you will gain the skills, knowledge, and lifelong support to lead in the movement to end factory farming.

Overview

Program elements include:
  • Workshops led by movement leaders
  • Discussions about weekly readings
  • Elective hours on a wide variety of topics
  • The opportunity to serve as a mentor to an Institute high school student
  • One-to-one support from FFAC staff mentors
  • An advocacy project of your choice
  • Connections with like-minded peers
  • Internships, job opportunities, and introductions
  • Lifelong membership in the Leadership Collective

Student Learning Objectives

  • Learn about the socioeconomic and scientific developments that gave rise to and continue to support industrial agriculture. 
  • Develop a comprehensive understanding of the impacts of factory farming on animal welfare, the environment and climate change, public health, and social justice. 
  • Improve verbal and written communication strategies.
  • Learn fundamental institutional and political advocacy skills.

Benefits

  • College advocates who complete all program requirements are eligible for letters of recommendation.
  • Obtain a broader understanding of available career paths and be exposed to job and networking opportunities.
  • Gain long-lasting friendships and mentors through immersion in a like-minded, supportive community.

Sample Activities & Curriculum

  • Environmental impacts of animal agriculture
  • Environmental justice
  • Meat workers
  • Animal health
  • Animal ethics
  • Plant-based nutrition and human health
  • Food racism/food justice
  • Connections with racial justice
  • Indigenous perspectives
  • Connections with feminist theory
  • Connections with disability rights
  • Future of food (biotech)
  • Policy
  • Effective activism: communication
  • Effective activism: strategies to end factory farming
  • Effective activism: careers and sustainable advocacy
  • Animal ethics
  • Climate change and animal agriculture
  • Food sovereignty
  • Media, animal advocacy, and the principles of persuasion
  • Indigenous perspectives and factory farming
  • Institutional campaigns: shifting culture in your community
  • Lobbying 101: How to lobby your local representatives
  • Open Sanctuary Project, LGBTQ+ perspectives
  • Plant-based nutrition panel
  • Public health: pandemics
  • Public speaking for activists
  • Self-care strategies for activists
  • Virtual farmed animal sanctuary tour: Charlie's Acres
  • A Green New Meal: factory farming and environmental justice
  • Community-building and organizing strategies
  • Building an equitable movement
  • Meat & masculinity panel
  • Delivering a full/adapted length FFAC interactive lesson to an audience of your choosing on one or more focus areas: health, social justice, and environmental impacts of animal agriculture
  • Working with Friends of the Earth or Balanced to establish plant-based dining options, pass legislation, and lead campaigns
  • Creating social media campaigns
  • Writing articles and op-eds for publication in various media outlets
  • Tabling/leafleting on campus to raise awareness about factory farming impacts
  • Other projects on approval
  • Educational Hour: Climate Justice and Factory Farming
  • Educational Hour: Effective Altruism
  • Educational Hour: Graduate programs- PhD, MS, MA, and funding for graduate school
  • Educational Hour: How to take political action for animals
  • Skill-Building Hour: Mindfulness in advocacy
  • Skill-building hour: Writing workshop
  • Social Hour: Community building
  • Social Hour: Plant-Based Eating Support

Apply

Program Dates

The Advocacy Institute program for college students offers two terms each year. Students can choose whichever term fits their schedules best.

Spring College Institute: January 17, 2023 - May 5, 2023

  • Students meet on Tuesdays and Thursdays from 10am-12pm PT / 11am-1pm MT / 12pm-2pm CT / 1-3pm ET
  • Orientation: January 12, 2023 from 10am-12pm PT / 11am-1pm MT / 12pm-2pm CT / 1-3pm ET
  • Spring Term Celebration: May 4, 2023 from 10-11am PT / 11am-12pm MT / 1pm-2pm CT / 2-3pm ET
  • The time commitment for this program is 7.5 hours per week for 16 weeks, which includes:
    • Initial orientation
    • Workshops
    • Discussion hours
    • Elective hours
    • Two advocacy project hours per week
    • End of term celebration

Summer College Institute: June 20, 2023 - August 10, 2023

  • Students meet on Tuesdays, Wednesdays, and Thursdays from 9am-1pm PT / 10am-2pm MT / 11am-3pm CT / 12-4pm ET
  • Orientation: June 15, 2023 from 9am-11am PT / 10am-12pm MT / 11am-1pm CT / 12-2pm ET
  • Summer Term Celebration: August 10, 2023 from 4-5pm PT / 5-6pm MT / 6-7pm CT / 7-8pm ET
  • The time commitment for this program is 15 hours per week for 8 weeks, which includes:
    • Initial orientation
    • Workshops
    • Discussion hours
    • Elective hours
    • Four advocacy project hours per week
    • End of term celebration

After completing one term at the Institute, students become members of the Leadership Collective. Students also have the option to pursue further Advocacy Institute training as a continuing student advocate or as a fellow in the Leadership Collective.

Program Requirements

In order to successfully complete this program, college advocates are required to attend: (1) an information session and interview, (2) the mandatory orientation, (3) all program meetings, and (4) the Advocacy Institute celebration.

Spring College Institute

  1. Attend weekly meetings on Tuesday and Thursday from 10am-12pm PT / 11am-1pm MT / 12pm-2pm CT / 1-3pm ET. During these weekly meetings, we will discuss the readings, participate in workshops, listen to guest speakers, and share progress on project work.
  2. Attend 1 elective hour each week (16 minimum, over the term) from a calendar offering a variety of options including educational hours, social hours, skill-building hours, team learning meetings with FFAC staff, and monthly CultureShift book club meetings. Note: educational hours, social hours, and skill-building hours take place during the weekly meeting time block above.
  3. College advocates will spend 2.5 hours per week for 16 weeks completing an advocacy project of their choosing. (See Advocacy Project Hours section above for sample project options.) During the final week of the Advocacy Institute, all college advocates will share about their experience and advocacy project during a virtual showcase.

Summer College Institute

  1. Attend meetings weekly on Tuesday, Wednesday, and Thursday from 9am-1pm PT / 10am-2pm MT / 11am-3pm CT / 12pm-4pm ET. During these weekly meetings, we will discuss the readings, participate in workshops, listen to guest speakers, and share progress on project work.
  2. Attend 2 elective hours each week (16 minimum, over the term) from a calendar offering a variety of options including educational hours, social hours, skill-building hours, team learning meetings with FFAC staff, and monthly CultureShift book club meetings. Note: educational hours, social hours, and skill-building hours take place during the meeting time block above.
  3. Each college advocate will mentor a high school student by leading them through pre-planned goal-setting and advocacy skill-building activities. FFAC will provide support and instructions for college mentors on how to lead mentor group meetings.
  4. College advocates will spend 4 hours per week for 8 weeks completing an advocacy project of their choosing. (See Advocacy Projects section above for sample project options.) During the final week of the Advocacy Institute, all college advocates will share about their experience and advocacy project during a virtual showcase. 

Reimbursement

This is an academic educational internship in which students will engage with other students in the program through readings, discussions, and workshops led by experts in their fields. The practical portion of the internship comprises students working on an advocacy project of their choice. Though this opportunity is unpaid, we are able to provide the cost of internet/phone services for students, which we hope helps make the program more accessible.

FFAC will provide each college advocate $200 toward the cost of internet and phone over the period of the term via check (unless otherwise requested).

Application Process

Admissions are competitive. Above all, we look for commitment to our mission and values. We look for candidates who will actively engage in our community and, later on, the Leadership Collective. There are no specific experience or GPA requirements.

Applications are accepted on a rolling basis!**

  1. Complete the online application below.
  2. In addition to submitting an application through this website, please upload your resume and a project sample. Your project sample should be any project you have done that displays your skills and ideas, e.g., an academic essay, personal writing, creative project, art, video, or anything else. We will accept a sample of any size or length—quality over quantity.
  3. After submitting your application, we will email you the recording of the information session to watch.
  4. After watching the information session, if you think the program is a good fit for you, we will assess your application further and select the applicants who will be invited to an interview.
  5. Within two weeks after your interview, we will let you know if you are accepted into the program.

**Applications are accepted on a rolling basis. You are welcome to submit an application now for a future term. Please note which term you are applying for on the application.

Please reach out with additional questions to Kiely Smith at kiely@ffacoalition.org.

Meet Our Cohort Leaders

Alexis Miller
Denver, CO
Elly Ren
Atlanta, GA
Iris Woosley
Chicago, IL
Kiely Smith
New York City, NY
Rowdy Keelor
San Diego, CA

Articles by Student Advocates

A Guide to Greenhouse Gases: Examples, Causes, Effects, and More
How do greenhouse gases work? What are their causes and effects? Most importantly, what can be done to lower emissions to avoid a climate crisis?
Sep 21, 2022
Starbucks’ Relationship with Factory Farming
Starbucks is the largest coffee shop chain in the world; where do they get their milk and dairy?
Sep 08, 2022
Effecting Change Through Employment: Two Examples
A career in advocacy is one of the most effective ways to make a sustained impact.
Sep 06, 2022

Collaborative Organizations

better food foundationfriends of the earth logobalanced logo